in

Drink Review: Jim Beam Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey

Jim Beam Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey is made using the same mashbill as the White Label Bourbon, but is aged for only a year in new charred American white oak barrels. It is then filtered to remove the colour, resulting in a sweet and cereal-rich whiskey with hints of a maritime character.

Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey Review:

Colour: Light golden yellow, indicates some oak tannins

Light golden yellow, indicates some oak tannins Nose: Notes of buttery and vanilla notes, with hints of bourbon grain

Notes of buttery and vanilla notes, with hints of bourbon grain Taste: Orangy, malty and creamy with hints of butter and vanilla

Orangy, malty and creamy with hints of butter and vanilla Finish: Slippery, malty with some draw

Slippery, malty with some draw Water: Not needed to gain any character

Not needed to gain any character Value for money: Good value for the money, smooth and enjoyable.

Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey Review:

My first impression with Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey was that it tastes like coffee. Sweet coffee. In fact, at times it tasted like rich and dark black mocha. As I continued to sip the whiskey, my mind began to wonder as to where the coffee was coming from. A startlingly bitter flavor hit me that was off-putting at first. It wasn’t until a few sips later that it transformed into an aroma of baked bananas, toffee, pineapple and a touch of strong oak. In the end, the sweet coffee notes teased me throughout this whiskey’s short journey.

As I chugged the whiskey and let the flavors settle, the strength of its banana aroma settled my whiskey down into a softer, smoother and savory whiskey. The raisin notes played off the banana aroma perfectly. It was strong to start, but as I continued to sip, its sweetness mellowed to perfectly complement the smokiness that pervades the bourbon. Overall, it was a very enjoyable whiskey. It was sweet and not terribly smoky. In fact, I could get the smoky-ness of it easily, but it just didn’t quite fit for this whiskey.

Final Thoughts:

Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey, while interesting, is definitely a whiskey for the mellow-er connoisseur. If you LOVE bourbon, I suggest you avoid Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey as it will be too spicy for you. It does have some caramel notes in there, some fruit notes and some honey-like sweetness. However, the banana and coffee notes really spoil the taste. This apparently was a mistake for Beam, because a bourbon that smells like bananas and coffee shouldn’t taste like it, which is quite obvious in this review.

Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey Review:

Overall 7.5/10 Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey 7.5/10 7.5/10 Summary A very interesting and unusual tasting bourbon. It has hints of coffee and banana, but it also has a smooth and tasty sweetness to it that will surprise you. 8.5/10

This whiskey is made using the same mashbill and is filtered to remove the colour. It is then aged for a year in American white oak barrels, then it is filtered once more to bring out the depth of the flavours. It is a sweet and flavorful whiskey, offering hints of coffee and a strong vanilla profile.

Most bourbons have an interesting flavor profile. They start off strong with bourbon pungency, then you get some sweet vanilla notes joined by an aroma of fruit from the oak barrels. This is true with Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey, which begins with a strong explosion of flavor and smokiness, followed by a smooth sweetness from the oak followed by vanilla and hints of banana. It is a really complex whiskey, and you will not be disappointed.

Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey Review:

8.2/10: This beer is very very very smooth, it has a very thick rich body and tastes like coffee. It is meant to be served at room temperature. It has a rich and enticing aroma that I find really enjoyable. It is recommended that you drink this beer with some sweeter food, otherwise the taste of the beer could fall a little flat.

Overall 8.4/10 Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey 8.4/10 8.4/10 Summary Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey is a very interesting and unusual tasting bourbon. It has hints of coffee and banana, but it also has a really nice sweetness to it that will surprise you. 9/10

Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey Review:

Overall 8.2/10 Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey 8.2/10 8.2/10 Summary From the moment the bottle is opened, it smells like sweet, candied fruits and raisins. The initial smoky and peppery notes don’t last long and the finish is sweet and often like a dry wine. 9/10

Jacobs Ghost White Whiskey Review:

Overall 7/10 Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey 7.5/10 7/10 Summary Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey has the traditional promises of a bourbon, a smooth, sweet and smoky flavour that surprised me. It is a very intriguing whiskey to taste and the mix of caramel, with tiny hints of strawberry, vanilla and milk chocolate is sweet and enjoyable.

Drink Jacob’s Ghost White Whiskey:

If you prefer serving your bourbon on the rocks, make sure you give this whiskey a shot. Don’t let the happy banana face on the bottle fool you. This whiskey has a punch! It is sweet, smooth, creamy and quite a surprise. However, it does definitely taste like banana, so if you don’t like banana, you be wise and avoid this whiskey.

Written by Mark Adams

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0

Drink Review: Tanqueray No.10 Gin

Drink Review: Flor de Cana 12 Year Old Rum